vs Tattoo Stencil Maker
Tattoo Stencil Maker App Alternative: InkLine Compared
Direct answer
A tattoo stencil maker app alternative comes down to one question: which part of the workflow stops and asks for money. Tattoo Stencil Maker is a free download whose App Store listing says some features require a premium subscription, without naming them; it holds a 4.72 average across 569 US ratings as of September 2026. InkLine is also a free download, runs six stencil modes on the device, and gives you the manual workflow of processing, editing, print layout and export free up to an allowance on the images you carry through it; past that allowance it takes a subscription, and AI generation runs on credits.
Two stencil apps sit side by side in the same App Store search, both free to download, both promising transfer-ready linework in seconds. What decides which one stays on your phone is rarely conversion quality. It is which part of the workflow stops and asks for money, and whether you learned that before or after you paid. Everything below was checked against Apple’s public store data and the US customer review feed on September 1, 2026.
Where the paywall sits, and how to check it before you pay
Both apps are free downloads. That is where the pricing similarity ends.
Tattoo Stencil Maker (App Store ID 6743803500, published by BRAVYCODE TECHNOLOGIES PRIVATE LIMITED, version 1.1.1, first released April 20, 2025) states in its listing that the app is free to download and that some features require a premium subscription. The listing does not say which features those are. US reviewers writing between November 2025 and August 2026 describe a weekly plan and a yearly plan. One detail worth knowing if you go looking for its terms: the listing’s description and its privacy and terms links use the name Stenstill, not the store name.
InkLine is also a free download, and this page is not going to claim its manual side is unconditionally free either. Processing, editing, print layout and export are free up to an allowance on how many images you carry through the workspace; past that allowance the manual workflow needs a subscription, and manual editing is sold as its own tier rather than bundled behind the AI plan. AI generation runs on a credit system that needs a network connection. Those allowances are configured remotely per install and can change without an app update, so treat any specific number you read anywhere, including in a review, as a snapshot rather than a commitment — and the image count is kept outside the app’s own storage, so deleting and reinstalling does not reset it. The difference worth weighing between these two apps is not free against paid. It is whether you can see the gate before you meet it.
Neither store description tells you what your Apple Account will actually be billed. You can settle that yourself in about a minute, for any app in this category:
- On the App Store product page, scroll to the In-App Purchases block. Every purchasable product, its exact name and its price appear there before you install anything. If the top product is a weekly plan, expect a weekly plan to be the default offer inside the app.
- Install, then open Settings → your name → Subscriptions before you spend an evening in the app. After starting any trial, check that screen again: it shows what actually began, the renewal date and the price after the trial ends.
- Cancel from that same Settings screen, never from inside the app. A recurring one-star complaint across this whole category — including an August 2026 review of Tattoo Stencil Maker — is that an app provides no way to cancel a membership. App Store subscriptions are not cancellable in-app by design; Apple owns that screen.
- For a charge you did not intend, file at reportaproblem.apple.com. Apple decides refunds, and going to the developer first costs you days you may not have.
- Sort the reviews by Most Recent rather than Most Helpful. Apps change their monetization; the most helpful reviews are frequently the oldest ones, written under terms that no longer exist.
That routine is worth more than any comparison table on this page, because it also works on the next stencil app you try.
What the public review record actually shows
Here is the most recent written US review activity for Tattoo Stencil Maker, retrieved from Apple’s public review feed on September 1, 2026.
| Date | Rating | What the reviewer describes |
|---|---|---|
| Aug 14, 2026 | 1 star | Limited adjustment; says there is no way to cancel the membership |
| Aug 11, 2026 | 5 stars | Skipped the trial, converted a camera-roll photo, calls it fast with crisp lines |
| Jun 7, 2026 | 1 star | “Trash must pay a fee” — says it used to be useful and now requires a fee |
| May 29, 2026 | 5 stars | “Took money from me” — paid yearly, could not use features, no support reply |
| Mar 24, 2026 | 1 star | “Paid for a week got 1 day” — unhappy with portrait line work |
| Jan 21, 2026 | 1 star | Refund request declined |
| Dec 4, 2025 | 1 star | Subscribed yearly; reports the AI portion not working |
| Nov 16, 2025 | 1 star | Reports being charged for a full year before the download finished |
| Sep 17, 2025 | 3 stars | Likes the app, says it could be cheaper |
Six of those nine are one star, and the dominant theme is billing rather than output quality. Note also that the May 2026 entry carries a five-star rating attached to complaint text — a useful reminder that star counts and review text do not always agree, and that scraping either one alone gives you a distorted picture.
Set against that, the app’s 4.72 average across 569 US ratings is real and should not be waved away. Written reviews are a self-selected sample; the large majority of ratings are silent taps from people who never wrote anything, and those people were, on balance, satisfied. The June 2026 line about the app having previously been useful points at the likeliest explanation — a monetization change partway through its life, with ratings accumulated on both sides of it. That is an inference from public data, not a fact, and it is offered as one.
The honest conclusion is narrower than a competitor page usually wants to draw: Tattoo Stencil Maker converts images competently, and its recent one-star reviews are overwhelmingly about surprise charges and support response times rather than about bad stencils.
Where the two stencil pipelines differ
The real product difference is how many decisions the app lets you make.
InkLine exposes six stencil modes. Linework, the default, traces solid black lines along the contours and keeps near-black areas as fills; Sketch gives a pencil-sketch look with gray shading; Outline reduces the image to bare contours; Dotwork adds stipple dots to traced outlines; Tonal draws a black-and-white shadow map instead of gray; and Denoised runs the line tracing on a noise-reduced copy of a grainy photo. Detail and Intensity apply to all six; Cleanup applies to Linework, Sketch, Outline and Denoised, because in Dotwork and Tonal the dots and hatching it would remove are the artwork. Sharpen, a 2x upscale on import and an optional HSV grayscale conversion sit alongside them, and all of it runs on the device. The stencil extraction modes reference covers what each one keeps and discards.
Tattoo Stencil Maker’s listing describes one conversion path with controls for darkness, detail level and line clarity, and states plainly that no design-software experience is needed. That is a design position rather than a shortfall. If your sources are clean line drawings and you convert one a week, a single path with three sliders finishes faster than six modes you have to evaluate.
Correction tools are the other split. InkLine ships full Apple Pencil support with Pen, Pencil, Marker and Eraser brushes that draw with pressure or at an even width, a Colors tool, mirror and flip, a photo guide that shows the original photo under the stencil while you redraw, and stroke-by-stroke undo plus a step timeline. The Tattoo Stencil Maker listing describes slider adjustment rather than brush editing and does not mention Apple Pencil. If you fix stencils by drawing on them rather than by re-converting them, that gap matters more than any conversion algorithm.
Print layout, the failure nobody checks until session day
The second recurring complaint in this niche, after surprise paywalls, is a stencil that prints at the wrong size. Paper handling is where the two listings diverge most clearly.
InkLine lays out the stencil at the width or height you type, in cm or inches, on US Letter, US Legal, Tabloid, A4 or A3, portrait or landscape; tiles designs larger than one sheet across up to 3 × 3 pages; prints a 5 cm check ruler on every sheet; exports PDF and PNG; and prints to AirPrint printers, re-tiling rather than scaling if the printer has different paper. Tattoo Stencil Maker’s listing mentions saving to the device, sending to a printer and sharing with a client, but does not state paper sizes, orientation or tiling as of September 2026 — which means test it rather than assume it, particularly for a back or thigh piece. The multi-page printing guide explains how to check a tiled output before you commit paper to it.
One limit applies to both apps equally: a phone and a home printer do not replace a dedicated thermal stencil printer at shop volume. They replace it for one-off work, travel work and conventions, which is a different and smaller claim.
Where Tattoo Stencil Maker is the better pick
Three cases, stated without hedging.
Your device is older. Tattoo Stencil Maker runs on iOS 15.6. InkLine requires iOS 17. If you are working from a hand-me-down iPad that will not update, that decides it before any feature comparison starts.
You want the shortest possible path. One conversion, three sliders, done. Six modes are an advantage only if you use them; if you would pick the default every time, they are overhead.
You already subscribed and it works for your sources. A yearly subscription you have paid for and are getting value from beats a migration. Switching apps costs you a re-learn, and the honest answer is that nothing on this page justifies that mid-term.
How to decide in one session
Run the same source photo through both apps. Judge the results at print size on paper, not zoomed in on a screen, because a stencil that reads as strong on a bright display frequently transfers as a solid mass. Print one of each at the final size on plain paper and hold it against the placement.
Then check two things that have nothing to do with image quality: at exactly which step each app asks for payment, and what Settings → Subscriptions says afterward. An app that gates export after you have spent forty minutes editing has cost you more than one that gates the first tap. InkLine’s own gates sit at the image allowance and at export, which is why they are written down here rather than left for you to find on session day.
If neither app produces a usable stencil, the app is probably not the problem. Below roughly 1000 px on the long edge, a photo cannot be rescued into clean linework by any converter — you are redrawing rather than converting, and upscaling adds plausible detail rather than recovering real detail. The photo resolution guide sets out the thresholds that actually hold up. For a comparison against a closer-matched stencil app, InkLine versus StencilStudio covers a competitor with a similar feature surface and a different pricing model.
InkLine vs Tattoo Stencil Maker, feature by feature
What Tattoo Stencil Maker does better: It is the most-rated stencil-specific app on the US App Store — 4.72 average across 569 ratings as of September 2026 — it has been shipping since April 2025, it runs on iOS 15.6 where newer apps need iOS 17, and its one-tap conversion is genuinely fast: an August 2026 reviewer converted a camera-roll photo and described the lines as crisp with no setup at all.
| Feature | InkLine | Tattoo Stencil Maker |
|---|---|---|
| Download price | Free on iPhone and iPad, iOS 17 or later. | Free on iPhone and iPad, iOS 15.6 or later — runs on older hardware (September 2026). |
| What a subscription gates | The manual workflow — processing, editing, print layout, PDF and image export — is free up to an allowance on how many images you carry through the workspace; past it, a subscription, available as a manual-only tier if you never generate. AI generation uses a credit system. | The App Store listing says the app is free to download and some features require a premium subscription, without naming which ones. Reviewers from November 2025 onward describe weekly and yearly plans. |
| Stencil extraction control | Six named modes — Linework (the default), Sketch, Outline, Dotwork, Tonal, Denoised — plus Detail, Intensity and Cleanup sliders, sharpen, a local 2x upscale on import, color-aware grayscale and an optional HSV conversion. | Listing describes one conversion path with controls for darkness, detail level and line clarity, and no named modes. |
| Works without a network | Stencil processing, editing and print layout run on the device; only the AI features, including AI Refine, need a connection. | Not stated in the App Store listing as of September 2026. |
| Drawing and correction | Full Apple Pencil support, Pen / Pencil / Marker / Eraser with pressure or even width, a Colors tool, mirror and flip, the original photo under the stencil as a tracing guide at 0–90% opacity, stroke undo and a step timeline. | Listing describes slider adjustment rather than brush editing; no Apple Pencil support is mentioned. |
| Print layout | Width or height typed in cm or inches on US Letter, US Legal, Tabloid, A4 or A3, portrait or landscape; tiling up to 3 × 3 sheets for oversized designs; a check ruler on every sheet; PDF, PNG and AirPrint. | Listing mentions saving to the device, sending to a printer and sharing; it does not state paper sizes, orientation or tiling (September 2026). |
| AI generation | Text prompt to design or stencil, photo to stencil, stencil to color, and the design on a generic body at one of 10 placements; 16 styles; credit-based, network required. | Reviewers reference an AI feature; a December 2025 subscriber reported it not working for them. The listing does not detail it. |
| Track record | Version 1.1.0, App Store ID 6759935181, iPhone and iPad on iOS 17 or later. This page states the version rather than a release date or a rating figure — both move without anyone editing this site, so read them off the listing itself. | On the App Store since April 20, 2025; version 1.1.1 shipped August 3, 2026; 569 US ratings. |
| Languages | Eight: EN, FR, DE, IT, JA, KO, PT, ES. | English only, per the App Store listing (September 2026). |
Competitor details are from the App Store listing as of September 2026 and change without notice. Check the current listing before deciding.
Frequently asked questions
Is the Tattoo Stencil Maker app free?
It is a free download, and its App Store listing states that some features require a premium subscription without saying which ones. Before installing, scroll to the In-App Purchases block on its product page — every product name and price is listed there, which is the only pre-install source that is always accurate.
How do I cancel a tattoo stencil app subscription?
Open Settings, tap your name, then Subscriptions, and cancel there. App Store subscriptions are never cancelled inside the app itself, which is why reviews across this whole category claim an app offers no way out. For a charge you did not intend, file at reportaproblem.apple.com rather than emailing the developer first.
Can a 4.7-star average and a run of one-star reviews both be true?
Yes. The average covers all 569 US ratings, most of which are silent taps with no text, while the written review feed is a small self-selected sample. When an app changes its monetization partway through its life, ratings collected before and after the change sit in the same average.
Which app gives more control over how the stencil is extracted?
InkLine exposes six separate stencil modes and three sliders, so you can test the same photo as solid linework, bare contours, stippling or a shadow map in a few seconds. Tattoo Stencil Maker's listing describes a single conversion with darkness, detail and line clarity controls, which is fewer decisions and a faster path when your source is already clean line art.
Can either app print a stencil bigger than one sheet of paper?
InkLine offers multi-page tiling for designs larger than one sheet, up to 3 × 3 sheets on any of its paper sizes, with registration for reassembly: every shared seam gets a fixed 15 mm overlap strip, circle-and-cross registration marks at three points along it, and a dashed cut line down its center on one sheet, and every sheet is labeled with its place in the grid, such as A1 · 1/4. Tattoo Stencil Maker's listing does not state paper sizes or tiling as of September 2026, so test it in the app before you rely on it for a back or thigh piece.