vs StencilStudio
StencilStudio Alternative: InkLine vs StencilStudio Compared
Direct answer
A StencilStudio alternative comes down to which half of the job is slowing you down. StencilStudio's App Store listing leads with speed and with bending a stencil so it follows the curve of a limb; InkLine leads with six named stencil modes, processing that runs on the device, Apple Pencil editing, and multi-page tiling on paper from US Letter to A3. Both are free downloads on iOS. If your bottleneck is placement on a curved body part, StencilStudio is the stronger tool; if it is control over the conversion itself and printing a piece larger than one sheet, InkLine is.
Two iPhone apps, both free to download, both aiming at the same twenty minutes of a working day: getting a reference off a screen and onto skin as a clean transfer. They overlap less than the category name suggests. Every statement below about StencilStudio comes from its own App Store listing as of September 2026, and where the listing is silent this page says so rather than assuming the feature is absent.
Which one to pick, by the job in front of you
| What is actually slowing you down | Better fit | Why |
|---|---|---|
| A reference that converts badly — grainy, flat, or shot in bad light | InkLine | Six named stencil modes let you change how the conversion happens instead of fighting sliders on one fixed result |
| Getting a stencil to sit on a bicep, a calf or a rib cage | StencilStudio | Its listing describes bending and adjusting the stencil to follow body shape before you commit; InkLine has no warp step |
| A piece bigger than one sheet of paper | InkLine | Tiling up to 3 × 3 sheets, portrait or landscape, with registration marks, cut lines and a label on every sheet |
| Working offline — convention floor, guest spot, bad studio signal | InkLine | Manual processing is local; StencilStudio’s listing does not state where its conversion runs |
| Fixing broken linework by hand before you print | InkLine | Apple Pencil, four brushes, the original photo under the stencil as a guide, and step history |
| Turning a written idea into a design you do not have yet | InkLine | Text prompt to design or stencil, in 16 styles — credit-based, needs a network |
| Wanting the app with the longer public record | StencilStudio | About 4.72 from roughly 359 ratings since March 2026; this page quotes no rating for InkLine, which is at v1.1.0 |
| Supporting an older iPhone or iPad | StencilStudio | Runs on iOS 16.1; InkLine requires iOS 17 |
Read that table as two different bets rather than a scoreboard. StencilStudio’s listing is written around throughput — clean a reference, fit it to the body, size it, print it, move to the next client. InkLine is written around the two places that throughput usually breaks: a source image that will not convert cleanly, and a design that will not fit on one sheet. If neither of those breaks your day, StencilStudio’s placement tools are the more directly useful thing, and the honest answer is to keep using it.
Extraction depth: six named modes versus one conversion
The single largest structural difference is what happens at the moment the image becomes black and white.
StencilStudio’s listing describes one conversion, tuned to produce readable black-and-white linework while keeping the details that matter. That is a defensible design decision. Most references are photographs of drawings, one good conversion handles most of them, and every extra control is another thing to explain to an apprentice.
InkLine exposes the choice instead. Linework, the default, traces solid black lines along the contours and keeps near-black areas as fills. Sketch gives a pencil-sketch look with gray shading. Outline reduces the image to bare contours. Dotwork adds stipple dots to traced outlines. Tonal draws a black-and-white shadow map for realism and black-and-gray, with dotted lines where each shadow level begins and hatching over the darkest, instead of gray that will not transfer. Denoised runs the line tracing on a noise-reduced copy of a grainy photo, which is the difference between a clean stencil and one peppered with specks that no slider can distinguish from real marks. Detail and Intensity apply to all six; Cleanup applies to Linework, Sketch, Outline and Denoised, because in Dotwork and Tonal the dots and hatching it would remove are the artwork.
Practically, this matters most on bad sources. A well-lit scan of ink on white paper converts acceptably under almost any process. A phone photo taken across a table in a dim studio does not, and the fix is choosing a different conversion, not pushing the same one harder. The stencil extraction modes reference covers what each one preserves and discards.
One caveat applies to both apps and to every app in this category: below roughly 1000 px on the long edge, a photograph cannot be rescued into a clean stencil. At that point you are redrawing rather than converting, and no mode, no upscale and no slider changes that.
Placement on a curved body part, where StencilStudio is ahead
This is the section where the comparison goes the other way, and it should be stated plainly.
StencilStudio’s listing describes bending and adjusting a stencil so it can better follow the shape of the body before you commit to final placement. That is a real workflow step. A design laid out flat on a screen and printed flat on paper does not wrap a forearm the way it looked, and pre-compensating for that curve on the design is genuinely useful.
InkLine does not do this. It offers mirror and flip, and an on-skin preview that shows how a design reads on the body — but that preview is a visualization, not a measurement of how a design sits on a curved surface, and it should never be used to settle a sizing argument with a client. The on-skin preview page states the same limit. If pre-warping stencils for curved placements is central to how you work, StencilStudio covers it and InkLine does not.
Print, paper and the multi-page problem
Both apps print from an iPhone to AirPrint printers and both export PDF. The difference shows up the moment a design exceeds a single sheet.
InkLine tiles. A design larger than one page is split across up to 3 × 3 sheets of US Letter, US Legal, Tabloid, A4 or A3, portrait or landscape. Every seam gets a 15 mm shared strip with three circle-and-cross registration marks and a dashed cut line, every sheet gets a label such as A1 · 1/4, and you then align and transfer the sections. That covers back pieces, sleeve panels and thigh work on a home or office printer, and the larger-than-one-page guide walks through the alignment. StencilStudio’s listing describes print-ready export and AirPrint printing but does not mention tiling as of September 2026.
The wrong-print-size complaint is the most common one-star review in this whole category, and it is almost always a paper-size mismatch rather than an app defect. InkLine prints a 5 cm check ruler on every sheet and re-tiles rather than scales when the printer has different paper, which catches most of it. Whichever app you use, print one test page at final size, hold it against the client’s arm, and confirm before you commit a full sheet of stencil paper.
Neither app replaces a dedicated thermal stencil printer for shop-volume work. Both replace it for one-off pieces, travel work and the days your thermal unit jams — a smaller and more honest claim.
What runs on the device, and what needs a signal
InkLine’s manual pipeline is local image processing. The six modes, the sliders, sharpen, the 2x upscale on import, the brushes, the print layout and the export all work with no network connection. The AI features, meaning the generation modes, x4 AI upscaling of their results and AI Refine in the workspace, are the part that needs a signal, and they run on credits.
StencilStudio’s listing does not state whether its conversion is on-device or server-side, so this page will not assert either way. If offline capability matters to you, install both and test them in airplane mode. That takes two minutes and beats any comparison table.
Editing: what happens after the conversion
An extraction result is a starting point, not a finished stencil. Thin lines break, adjacent shapes merge, a background element survives that should not have.
InkLine gives you Apple Pencil support with Pen, Pencil, Marker and Eraser brushes, a Colors tool, a photo guide that shows the original photo under the stencil at an opacity you set while you redraw, and stroke-by-stroke undo plus a step timeline so an over-aggressive erase is reversible. The Apple Pencil drawing page covers pressure, the stroke eraser and double-tap. StencilStudio’s listing describes resize, mirror and placement, and does not mention brush drawing or Apple Pencil support — which may mean the feature is absent or simply unlisted.
Price, and the thing people actually complain about
Both apps are free downloads. In InkLine, the manual stencil workflow — processing, editing, print layout and export — is free up to an allowance on how many images you carry through it; past that allowance it needs a subscription. Manual editing has its own tier, sold separately from AI credits, and AI generation runs on credits. Those allowances are configured remotely and can change, so this page will not quote a number at you — and the counter that meters the images is kept outside the app’s own storage, so deleting the app and reinstalling it does not reset the allowance. StencilStudio’s in-app pricing is set by its developer, and this page will not state it on their behalf.
Surprise paywalls are the other recurring one-star theme in this category, alongside wrong print sizes. The reasonable defense is the same for both apps: before an appointment depends on it, run one full job end to end — import, convert, edit, lay out, print — and find out exactly where a payment prompt appears in your own workflow rather than in a comparison table written by one of the two vendors.
The honest summary
Stay with StencilStudio if you fit designs to curved placements often, if you want the app with 359-odd ratings behind it rather than a newer one, or if your device is on iOS 16. Those are three good reasons and none of them is a consolation prize.
Try InkLine if your references convert badly and you want to change how the conversion happens, if you print pieces larger than one sheet, if you correct linework by hand with an Apple Pencil, or if you need the whole manual pipeline to work with no signal. Both are free to install, so the sensible move is to run the same difficult reference through each and keep whichever one gets you to a transferable stencil with less fighting.
InkLine vs StencilStudio, feature by feature
What StencilStudio does better: StencilStudio's App Store listing describes bending and adjusting a stencil so it follows the shape of the body before you commit to placement — a warping step InkLine does not have at all. It also has the longer public track record of the two: roughly 4.72 from about 359 ratings on a v3.1.0 build that has been shipping since March 2026, as of September 2026.
| Feature | InkLine | StencilStudio |
|---|---|---|
| Extraction modes | Six named modes — Linework (the default), Sketch, Outline, Dotwork, Tonal, Denoised — chosen before you touch a slider | One stencil conversion, described as producing readable black-and-white linework that keeps important detail (Sep 2026 listing) |
| Where the conversion runs | On the device. Manual processing works with no network connection at all | The listing does not state whether conversion runs on-device or on a server (Sep 2026 listing) |
| Fitting a design to a curved limb | Mirror and flip, plus an on-skin preview that is an AI image of the design on a generic body part rather than a measurement. No warp tool | Bend and adjust the stencil so it follows the shape of the body before committing to placement (Sep 2026 listing) |
| Editing after extraction | Apple Pencil support, Pen / Pencil / Marker / Eraser with pressure or even width, a ruler, a Colors tool, the original photo under the stencil as a tracing guide, stroke undo and a step timeline | Resize, mirror and placement are described; brush drawing and Apple Pencil are not mentioned in the listing (Sep 2026) |
| Designs larger than one sheet | Tiling up to 3 × 3 sheets on US Letter, US Legal, Tabloid, A4 or A3, portrait or landscape, with registration marks, a dashed cut line and a label on every sheet | Print-ready files and AirPrint printing are described; multi-page tiling is not mentioned in the listing (Sep 2026) |
| Export formats | PDF at the chosen paper size, PNG with an optional transparent background, save to Photos, share sheet | PNG or PDF (Sep 2026 listing) |
| Creating a design you do not have yet | Text prompt to design or stencil, photo to stencil, stencil to color, and the design on a generic body at one of 10 placements; 16 styles; a credit per result and a network connection | Built around references you already hold — client photos, your own drawings, existing tattoo images (Sep 2026 listing) |
| Languages | EN, FR, DE, IT, JA, KO, PT, ES | English (Sep 2026 App Store listing) |
| Minimum iOS | iOS 17, iPhone and iPad | iOS 16.1, which reaches older hardware than InkLine does (Sep 2026 listing) |
| Public track record | v1.1.0, iPhone and iPad on iOS 17 or later, App Store ID 6759935181. This page states the version and the requirement rather than a release date or a rating figure — both move without anyone editing this site, so read them off the listing | v3.1.0, first released March 2026, about 4.72 from roughly 359 ratings (Sep 2026) |
Competitor details are from the App Store listing as of September 2026 and change without notice. Check the current listing before deciding.
Frequently asked questions
Is InkLine a drop-in replacement for StencilStudio?
Not on placement. StencilStudio's listing describes bending a stencil to follow the shape of the body, and InkLine has no equivalent warp step — it offers mirror, flip and an on-skin preview instead. On extraction control, editing and multi-page printing, InkLine goes further.
Which one works without a signal at a convention or a guest spot?
InkLine's manual pipeline — the six stencil modes, the sliders, the brushes, the print layout and export — is local image processing and runs in airplane mode. Only its AI features, including AI Refine, need a network. StencilStudio's listing does not say where its conversion runs, so treat that as unknown until you test it offline yourself.
Can either app print a design bigger than a sheet of paper?
InkLine tiles a design across up to 3 × 3 sheets of US Letter, US Legal, Tabloid, A4 or A3, portrait or landscape, each labeled with its place in the grid, so a back piece or a full sleeve panel comes off a normal home printer in registered sections. StencilStudio's listing describes print-ready export and AirPrint printing but does not mention tiling as of September 2026.
Does StencilStudio have a higher rating than InkLine?
StencilStudio sits at about 4.72 from roughly 359 ratings as of September 2026, on a build that has been in the store since March. This page does not state a rating for InkLine — rating figures move without anyone editing this site, so check its App Store listing (ID 6759935181) directly. What this page can state is the build: InkLine is at v1.1.0 and requires iOS 17 or later.
How much does each one cost?
Both are free downloads. In InkLine, the manual stencil workflow — processing, editing, print layout and export — is free up to an allowance on how many images you carry through it, and needs a subscription past that allowance; a tier that covers manual editing is sold separately from AI credits, and AI generation runs on credits. StencilStudio's in-app pricing is set by its developer and is not something this page can state on its behalf.